District Boards | WTCS Skip to content

District Boards

Wisconsin's 16 technical college districts operate as a local units of government, uniquely tied to the communities they serve.

Each District Board consists of nine trustees appointed by local officials after a vigorous application process. District Boards are accountable for the day-to-day operations of the colleges, such as appointing and working with the college president, budgeting, strategic planning, hiring, developing and offering programs and courses, and developing and maintaining facilities.

In the more than 100 years since the System was established, this governance structure has resulted in colleges that are uniquely focused on local and regional economic development and responsiveness to students, employers and communities.

District Boards Association

The Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association is the non-profit, membership organization for the 144 trustees who oversee college operations.

The Association provides professional development opportunities for members, and its Executive Director is the liaison to the WTCS Board and System Office, the Legislature, Congress, state and federal agencies, and other partners.